Goodness Round Up

During my absence, I  did use those time to pursue, experiment and become an amateur  in my creative process. Here’s a round-up of all those shenanigans that happened.

Said Yes to an invitation to participate for the Block Party Exhibit that happened March 2015. You might remember the artwork similar to the previous Sky Fishing. This was its continuation, “Fishes Goes South”.

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_FISHES GOES SOUTH

Tested myself to join PBBY Alcala Prize. It was a nationwide contest open to all illustrators and artists. Participants are asked to create three illustrations based on the winning Alacala story The Missing Blanket by Cheeno Sayuno. I didn’t win but I was ecstatic to get honorable mention because my intention is to just test myself in composition. (btw, I arrived at the awarding just 2 minutes before I was called, buzzer beater!)

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_PBBY

I am also thankful to be part of this 1001 Awesome Sticker Book! This is the first time I used my illustration style in a project. I always get chills down my spine whenever I saw my work somewhere but this one is no exception.

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_1001 STICKERS

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_1001 STICKERS02

I also signed up to some talks and activities to learn other techniques and tips from other artists. I tried painting some vinyl toy from Tyang’s workshop. I kind of enjoyed it but I need a lot of practice to nail this one. My black robot vinyl looked stiff, haha. That woman in specs is Tyang, she is super accommodating and I think she’s really cool.

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_TYANGANIZED

I also went to some painting meditation class. The one that marked the most was when my boyfriend and I went to Kerby Rosanes of sketchy stories 🙂 I literally dragged Jaydel because I wasn’t feeling well, creatively. By the time Kerby’s talk was finished, Jaydel became an instant fan. And maybe because of fan girling, I was instantly cured.

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_KERBY ROSANES

This one is non-mustard world stuff but last 2 years ago I was at The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf, it was holiday Season and I was so in love with their shop’s displays and their planner. I silently wished to be part of CBTL’s holiday season. Last year it happened when I did their stamp card layout. This year, it happened again! I did some illustrations for their Planner!

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_FREELANCE SAB

I also participated in very few art fairs. As I’ve mentioned before, it exhausted me somehow but I really like and enjoy the direct connection with the people. I think its very humanly.  But there was this exact moment when I said ” Okay, this is really good but I really need to seriously limit it or i’ll really exhaust myself. ” MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_RELAXINGThe reply happened. There was a post from Prism Gallery about interested artists to do a postcard project! I signed up and some of the original artworks and postcards are currently on display and available at Prism Gallery! 🙂 Yay! Four designs are under consignment as well and I’m planning to add more if  budget permits.

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT POST 01_SABRINA PALMARES

I also printed on the envelopes as well.  ^_^

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_POSTCARDS FOR SALE

That’s pretty much the highlights of what I’ve been up to for the last months. We still have a month to go but I’ll be taking it easy this December to better equip myself. I’ll leave this shot of a Dali quote I saw on a bookstore last month. If we create something everyday, stayed wonder struck every day, then we probably experienced supreme pleasure.

MUSTARD WORLD EVENT 01_dali

line mustard-world_footer

8 thoughts on “Goodness Round Up

  1. It’s a joy to know you’ve been playing with the world! (I am a little bit disappointed that you didn’t win for your The Missing Blanket illustrations because they. are. delightful. I think someone made a mistake.:)) (Really.)

    1. I think groups as such, are fearful of opening the doors to others.The J in JVP implies that it’s a safe place for Jews to be dissenters of Israel. YJP, with any involvement of Arthur Waskow, seems likean insincere orgnoizatian, devoted to obfuscation and spin.

Leave a mark

